Daniel Francis

Reading the National Narrative

B.C. Book Prizes Announced

Sep 25, 2023

The BC and Yukon Book Prizes were awarded over the weekend. The winners are:

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize - Billy-Ray Belcourt, A Minor Chorus (Hamish Hamilton/Penguin Random House Canada)

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize - Karen Bakker, The Sounds of Life: How Digital Technology Is Bringing Us Closer to the Worlds of Animals and Plants (Princeton University Press)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize - Otoniya J. Okot Bitek, A is for Acholi (Wolsak & Wynn)

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize - Cole Pauls, Kwändǖr (Conundrum Press)

Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize - Rachel Hartman, In the Serpent’s Wake (Penguin Random House Canada)

Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize - Jessika Von Innerebner, That’s My Sweater! (Scholastic Canada)

Jim Deva Prize for Writing That Provokes - Michael J. Hathaway, What a Mushroom Lives For: Matsutake and the Worlds They Make (Princeton University Press)

Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award - Chief Robert Joseph, Namwayut: We Are All One: A Pathway to Reconciliation (Page Two Books)

Aside from mildly regretting the lack of history titles among the winners, I am surprised that BC-based publishers took home only one of the eight prizes, though I have no idea what that means.

I should also mention that Robin Stevenson, a prolific author of books for young readers, was awarded this year's Lieutenant Governor's Award for Literary Excellence.

Congratulations to all the winners.