Daniel Francis

Reading the National Narrative

Glittering Prizes

Oct 2, 2022

In case you missed it -- and it was very easy to miss, given the scarcity of book news these days -- the BC Book Prizes were awarded last week. Here are the winners.

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize -- Ruth Ozeki, The Book of Form and Emptiness (Viking/Penguin Random House)

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize -- Jordan Abel, NISHGA (M&S/Penguin Random House)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize -- Henry Doyle, No Shelter (Anvil Press)

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize -- Dr. Luschiid Arvid Charlie and Nancy Turner, Luschiim's Plants: Traditional Indigenous Foods, Materials and Medicine (Harbour Publishing)

Sheila Egoff Children's Literature Prize -- Robbie Waisman with Susan McClelland, Boy from Buchenwald: The True Story of a Holocaust Survivor (Bloomsbury)

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize -- Julie Morstad, Time is a Flower (Tundra Books/Penguin Random House)

Jim Deva Prize for Writing That Provokes -- Harsha Walia, Border and Rule: Global Migration, Capitalism and the Rise of Racist Nationalism (Fernwood Publishing)

Bill Duthie Bookseller's Choice Award -- Suzanne Simard, Finding the Mother Tree (Allen Lane/Penguin Random House)

Plus, Audrey Thomas won the Lt. Gov.'s Award for Literary Excellence, a kind of lifetime achievement award.

Congratulations to all the winners.